Tried and Tested Kitchen: Corn Cakes

Corncakes

The Test Kitchen hasn’t been too, errm, testy lately, so I thought I’d entertain you with some old favourites – Bill Granger’s Corn Cakes (ok, so he calls them Sweetcorn Fritters). 

These are big favourites in the Kitschenette household. Quick and easy and delicious. Usually I roast some tomatoes in balsamic vinegar and olive oil to go with them, as the corn cakes soak up the vinegary juices fantastically. A splodge of a good mayonnaise (home-made or otherwise, maybe with some lime juice to sparkle it up) on the side, maybe some proscuitto or Bunderfleisch (raw dried meat, popular in Swissyland), slices of ripe avocado – gosh, what a great meal. Oh, and a bit of leafy greenery never goes astray, either.

At some stage I used to add some grated zucchini to the mix as well, but I found that it tended to make the fritters/cakes soggy and heavy. So now I do without it, and the result is much better, and lighter. Also, Bill specifies the addition of capsicum to the vege mix, but I DESPISE capsicum, so I skip it. They taste much better capsicum-free.

Corn cakes (via Bill Granger’s Sydney Food)

1 cup of plain flour

1 tsp baking powder

1/4 tsp salt

1/4 tsp paprika

1 Tb sugar (I never add this)

2 eggs

1/2 cup of milk

2 cups of fresh corn kernels: DON’T use canned corn. It just isn’t the same. The cakes really need the crunchy texture form fresh corn to give them some bite. I usually use 2 or 3 ears of corn and that seems to be enough.

1/2 cup of chopped coriander, parsley and spring onion

oil for frying

* you can also add 1/2 cup of diced red capsicum if you like.

How

– Cook the corn (salt the water if you like, I never do), then cool it and slice off the kernels with a sharp knife. Set aside.

– Sift flour, baking powder, salt, and paprika into a large bowl. Stir in sugar if using. make a well in the centre.

– In a separate bowl, whisk together eggs and milk.

– Gradually add the eggs and milk ot the dry ingredients and whisk until smooth. batter will be quite stiff.

– Chop herbs and spring onions and mix through the corn kernels.

– Add the corn/herb mix to the batter and mix gently.

– Heat oil in a non-stick pan and fry cakes, using one or two tablespoons per cake (as you like). Children seem to like mini-cakes, so you can also drop in teaspoonsful to make little cakes (also good for snacks or appetisers). Cook cakes for a couple of minutes each side until golden brown, depending on their size. Add a little more oil for each batch to ensure all cakes get a nice crispy goldenness. Keep cooked cakes on a plate covered wiht a tea towel to keep warm, or in a gently warm oven, until ready to serve.

– Plate up with the above-mentioned accompaniments: roasted toms, sliced avocado, proscuitto or similar thinly sliced meats, leafy salad. Great for summer! Or picnics (they travel well). Or snacks etc etc.

16 thoughts on “Tried and Tested Kitchen: Corn Cakes

  1. Mmm, that sounds like a wonderful, wonderful meal. I can hardly wait for fresh corn to come to the farmers’ markets here, and ahhh, summertime roasted tomatoes! Thanks so much for a delicious-sounding recipe…I can’t wait to try it.

  2. Hi!
    I made these the other day when I was housebound with the children and I had cabin fever. I was desperate to have something different for dinner, so I made these using the ingredients in the pantry and the fridge. Hence, brown onions, tinned corn (I know, this is not good enough) and red capsicum (I quite like this veggie, and it gave the crunch which tinned corn can’t provide). I topped the corn cakes with some cream cheese and an impromptu avocado dip (avocado, lemon juice, sweet chilli sauce).
    The corn cakes were yummy and I promise to try them with fresh corn too! Thanks for the recipe.

  3. they do travel well. best eaten within a few days, I would think, but longer if refrigerated. I wold say within 2 days max unrefrigerated (there’s eggs in there!) but 4 or so in the fridge. The bets thing to do is have a sniff : )
    You could probably also freeze them, although I haven’t tried that. You could try freezing them individually or in twos, then putting them, say, in a lunchbox to be defrosted and ready to eat by lunchtime.

Leave a Reply

