Sugar trail

The trail of chocolate cakes, biscuits and other sweeties continues to flow from the Kitschenette household…

In previous weeks I have made bumper batches of chocolate chippers, biscotti and mailänderli. 
I made two double batches of christmas cake (slightly different recipe for each batch, one with nuts, the other without- see Nige’s recipe for christmas cake here).
Yesterday I made a double batch of brownies.
This afternoon Max and I made chocolate fudge for all the kids at his kindy.
Just now two flourless chocolate and cognac cakes are baking in the oven (one for dessert tomorrow night when my lovely friends E and K are visiting, and oen for the staff at the Chinderhuus).
And I have yet to decide on what to make for dessert for Christmas dinner at Bruno’s parents on Saturday night, other than fruitcake….

I’ve gotten to the point where I can’t look another biscuit/guetzle, brownie or nibblet of anything sweet in the eye anymore. I’ve been craving salty foods, which is very unlike me. And I’d like my evenings back, please. As much as I love baking (and I DO love it), I don’t want to do it every evening!

But, all our friends and neighbours have seemed to like their little bags of sweet offerings, wrapped up and tied with ribbon and signed personally by Max, so that I feel like my time has been well-spent.

Brownies

Brownies by the dozen here at the Red Kitchen, anyone?

Chocolatecake

Early stages of flourless chocolate cake…

Rich chocolate brownies (from Jill Dupleix’s Old Food)

250g dark bitter chocolate, chopped
175g butter
175g white sugar
3 eggs
1/2 tsp vanilla extract
100g walnuts, chopped (I left these out, because I hate nuts – other than ground – in cakes or biscuits)
100g plain flour
1 level tsp baking powder

how

– Heat oven to 180°C, and butter a shallow 25cm x 30cm baking tin (or similar)
–  Melt chocolate and butter in a heat-proof bowl over a pot of simmering water, stirring occasionally.
– Remove from heat, being careful not to scald yourself on the escaping steam. Leave to cool for 10 misn or so.
– Beat sugar and eggs in a large bowl until pale and creamy.
– Fold chocolate mixture into egg mixture. Add vanilla, and walnuts if using, and mix well.
– Sift in flour and baking powder and fold gently until just mixed.
– Pour mixture into tin and bake for 25 – 30 mins or until a skewer inserted comes out moist but not wet. Be careful not to overcook as there is nothing more disappointing than a dry brownie. Brownies are meant to be fudgy and moist, not dry and brittle. Cake, not cookies!
– Dust with icing sugar and pile up high for your delectation.

9 thoughts on “Sugar trail

Leave a Reply

