Breakfast in Amsterdam

.flickr-photo { border: solid 2px #000000; }.flickr-yourcomment { }.flickr-frame { text-align: left; padding: 3px; }.flickr-caption { font-size: 0.8em; margin-top: 0px; }


Breakfast, originally uploaded by kitschenette.

Just back from Amsterdam. Am I the only person who didn’t know that apple pie was such a big deal for the Dutch? Possibly. I have to say, the dutch apple pie ROCKS. It is so delicious, no nuts, big chunks of cinnamony buttery appley goodness, with a crumbly, almost crumble-like pastry. Must find a recipe!

That said, this photo depicts The Apple Pie of Death! Delicious, sooo delicious, but not a good idea for breakfast on an empty stomach…Plasticfancy and I were starving on saturday morning, and ordered this huge wodge of pie and cream for breakfast, with a coffee on the side. But it proved too much for our delicate morning constitutions – too heavy, too rich for our poor stomachs. I think we experienced something close to the meat sweats (!), but for sweets – the sweets sweats????

5 thoughts on “Breakfast in Amsterdam

  1. Got to say that looks like a truly obscene amount of cream, and for breakfast??? I am not surprised you sweet-sweated!

  2. Heh. I can send you some recipes, if you’d like….
    But where did you have this? It kinda looks like the appeltaart – famous! – at Café Winkel on the Noordermarkt, but perhaps you remember? 🙂

  3. Lynn, that’s exactly the one (i think)! It was at a Saturday morning market somewhere in the Jordaan – breads, cheeses, fruit & veg, antiques etc. Apparently the market is very old. The cafe was absolutely packed, and the pie WAS delicious – just not for breakfast 🙂
    If you have a recipe for the cake above, I would be so happy! I would love to try to make it.

  4. Hi there,
    I was thinking that very same think. This HAS to be a piece of the “appeltaart” they serve at Winkel… and it is! It is defo one of the best in town, delish! You can see them (though the the basement kitchen window) peeling apples first thing in the morning on market days (Noordermarkt on Saturday indeed).
    Hmmmmm… I’m just considering having dinner there tonight just to re-sample the “taart”! It’s been a while! 😉 Should I come across their recipe, I’ll pass it on too, but I’m afraid it may be one of those best-kept-secret ones! 🙂
    Cheers,
    Ninj

  5. La Ninja, I tried to find an authentic recipe for the apple pie, and my recent post is about the closest I could find (in english, at least!). If you ever find out that secret recipe, I’d love to know it…

Leave a Reply

