Potluck Supper Club #1

This slideshow requires JavaScript.

A while ago I decided that I didn’t see quite enough of my closest friends, busy as we all are with families, work and life in general. So I tried to think up devious ways that I could get to see them more often, and came up with the idea of a supper club – because what better way to get a whole bunch of people together than to lure them in with the promise of good food, copious amounts of drink and great company, eh? Supper clubs are a bit of a trend, I admit, but who cares, the idea is a fun one. Here’s what I wrote originally to entice my friends to join me:

Dear friends, 

I have a dream….a dream of a time when I get to see all my lovely friends, eat delicious food and drink great wine at least once a month!

So I’m thinking – a Potluck Supper Club. What do you reckon?

It would start as a year-long project. Once a month a bunch of us meet at someone’s house. We each bring a dish, and a bottle of wine. We eat, drink and make merry. At some point during the night we each scribble down the recipe for the meal we’ve brought along in a designated book. Photos are taken of the proceedings (none incriminating, of course, merely to give an idea of the atmosphere). At the end of the year I compile all the recipes and photos into a book, and we each get a copy.

Sound like fun? Hope so! I’m taking as my inspiration one of my favourite cookbooks ever, Nigel Slater’s Kitchen Diaries – ol’ Nige took note of everything he ate for a year, as well some very low-key but lovely photos of the meals. Truly lovely, and v. seasonally inspiring.

If you are interested, please let me know. And feel free to pass on the invitation to others you know who might be keen. I’ll host the first party!

And thus the Potluck Supper Club was born. We meet once a month at a different person’s house, we each bring a dish, and the recipe for it, plus a bottle of something. We collect all the recipes, then at the end I collate it all into a book, and we each get a copy. Needless to say, my friends were very enthusiastic about the idea, and after a quick email whip-around, I ended up with 16 eager participants.

After a little organisational Doodling, some dragging of chairs and tables down from the attic, and much casting around the neighbourhood for extra tablecloths, cutlery and glassware, the inaugural edition of the Potluck Supper Club was held at my house last night. And – of course it was fantastic, and so much fun. I didn’t get a chance to take many photos (too busy stuffing my face) but hopefully someone else took some.

The next edition of the Potluck Supper Club will be held sometime in April, with the theme ‘Reminds Me of Home’. Can’t wait! Stay tuned for more to come.

We ate:

Mains: Chicken, leek and mushroom pie/Tartiflette/Broiled Balsamic salmon/Asparagus spears with prosciutto and olive paste/Lentils, radicchio and walnuts/Spicy sausage roll/Wraps with cream cheese and proscuitto/Rucola with mozzarella, mango and basil/Vietnamese spring rolls with Naam Jim Priau Wan sauce/Cheese loaf/Champagne cream soup.

Dessert: Sticky date pudding with toffee sauce/Tiramisu with orange juice and amaretto/Pineapple with peppermint/Hand-made Belgian chocolates. 

3 thoughts on “Potluck Supper Club #1

  1. A great idea and a truly wonderfull evening – look forward to seeing you and your delicacies again in April! 😊
    Barbara

  2. I was sick at home and really sad I couldn`t be at the first of many great evenings to come! I will make sure I can make it in April!! Cherie the idea is just fabolous:)
    xx Inge

Leave a Reply

